Talk of the Nation

Dear Readers,

Tomorrow I’ll be on NPR’s Talk of the Nation program discussing the lessons that can be learned from parenting a terminally ill child. The program will air at 2 pm EST on your local NPR station, and I’ll also post a podcast when I can! Thanks!

6 responses to “Talk of the Nation

  1. LOVE Neil Coenen and Talk of the Nation. I listed to it every day and will look forward to hearing your segment. Best wishes, Emily.

  2. Great. I’ve posted this on FB.

  3. Monica Gettleman

    Hi Emily,

    I look forward to hearing you on NPR!

    Monica

  4. Emily,
    I heard your session on NPR today and just wanted to say that I have such tremendous admiration for you. Ronan could not have been blessed with any better or more loving mother.
    Heartfelt thanks to you from San Francisco for making the world a better place.

  5. Loved hearing you on Talk of the Nation. Not only do your words express your courage and strength but your voice exudes composure. I deeply admire you and your family!

  6. I wanted to let you know I heard you yesterday. I postponed going into the gym to swim when I heard the topic. I am the mother of two living children. My daughter Anelisa was born with sever CHD, passed away eleven years ago and a son, Aaron who is now 24.

    I wanted to call in, but did not get the chance, I was driving and could not dial in đŸ™‚

    I often feel now that if I had given in to attending support groups my transition into the grieving period would have been easier. Yeah right, my friend said yesterday, who also lost her daughter. Sometimes it is just alright to know others have gone through, or are going through what you did. I was blessed to help take care of my friends daughter for two years before she passed away. I see now I was a support for her mother, and we see each other at least once a week or so each month, and get together around their birthdays and remember.

    Kimberly Hall is right, your words and composure remind me of myself, and that strength will pull you through so much more. Also writing on my blog, a mish mash of things has helped me in so many ways, so keep it up!

    hugs,

    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

