Some verses of…

Today, a poem by the poet Zbiegniew Herbert, a poet who teaches us how to -“learn-forget”

Verses of a Pantheist

Lose me o star

–says the poet —

pierce me with the arrow of distance

spring drink me

–says the man as he drinks–

drain me to the bottom to nothingness

let the good eyes deliver me

to devouring landscapes

let words that were to protect the body

bring me an abyss

the star will strike its root in my forehead

the spring strip my face–

then you will wake up silent

in the hands of motionlessness

at the heart of things

(translated from the Polish by John and Bogdana Carpenter)

2 responses to “Some verses of…

  1. Ah, Emily, these poems are so beautiful, so heart-wrenching.

  2. Alma Luz Villanueva

    “the star will strike its root in my forehead”…what a line, what a poem, gracias for sharing this poet…good dreams…xoxo

Leave a Reply

