What If This Thanksgiving Was Your Last?

This week’s essay on Role/Reboot.

http://www.rolereboot.org/life/details/2012-11-what-if-this-thanksgiving-was-your-last

10 responses to “What If This Thanksgiving Was Your Last?

  1. Thank you again for your writing. You keep my perspective in check.

    Blessings,
    Paul

  2. This was amazing!! Since Halloween I’ve been in a dour mood, every single thing we do cast with the pall of “this is probably our last xyz as a full family”. I’ve been trying to keep in mind everything you’ve written here, and I believe that with something written as a reference, I will better be able to.

    And if it is possible, could you share the name of the FB group for parents of terminally ill children? I have been searching for something outside of just the disease foundation (since there are only 4 current children with my daughter’s disease and type) but haven’t landed upon anything just yet. I would really appreciate it!!!

  3. As always, stunning essay. I am always impressed by how your particular experience and sensibility, coupled with the most beautiful writing imaginable can reach all of us — no matter whether we share your experiences or not. Thank you for your generosity –

  4. Everytime I read your pieces, I feel like someone has flayed my skin and left me exposed to the harsh realities that we hide. Thank you for your honesty.

  5. Dear Emily, I’m sure you will cherish Ronan this Thanksgiving. We cherish you. I know all holidays now must be bitter-sweet,but I hope there are moments of happiness even joy for you this year. Love, Judy. E

    Sent from my iPhone

  6. THANK YOU. Love to you and your family today, tomorrow, and always.

  7. Dear Emily, I can hear so many of your voices in this post: you the mom, of course, but also you the teacher, the writer, the philosopher, the counselor. My mom died Monday, and so we had her last Thanksgiving dinner a few days before; she couldn’t eat, except for a taste of ice cream and watermelon. We were happy, knowing that pain and loss would come for us, but not for her. Yesterday, on Thanksgiving,eve, we celebrated by making a bowl of her regular potluck contribution: orange jello mixed with fruit cocktail; it instantly became her great granddaughter’s T day favorite food..

  8. thanxgiving is happy day

  9. grahamforeverinmyheart

    I wanted to let you know that I’ve added your blog, the NY Times article about you, your Facebook page and one of the pieces you’ve written to my website http://www.scoop.it/t/grief-and-loss. My 23 year old son was killed almost 34 weeks ago and I’ve been trying to figure out how to survive and live without him. I’ve been collecting blogs, articles, videos and more – all by and for bereaved parents and siblings. I think many parents will be able to relate to your experience and your beautiful writing.
    I’m so sorry that you are facing the loss of Ronan.

  10. I have reread this many times, and visit your blog ever since reading you in NYT. Thank you for writing “I can’t imagine what you’re going through/ You can — you just don’t want to”…That was from another of your writings and it never fails to pull me out of arm’s length apathy. Thank you for your incredible writing, and for sharing your journey with us strangers. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

