The Still Point of the Turning World

Hey everyone,

Just wanted to let you know that my book about my experience with Ronan, The Still Point of the Turning World, is available for pre-order on Amazon. My friend Catherine Davis is responsible for the beautiful cover. And thanks especially to Andrea, my editor, who was the smartest and best editor a writer could ask for.

And thanks for reading!

12 responses to “The Still Point of the Turning World

  1. Looking forward to reading anything that you write, but my heart breaks for you that this had to be written.

  2. Gorgeous cover for a beautiful boy and his mom.

  3. Looking at the date of publication makes everything seem so final. I love your writing and i will read this book. Thank you.

  4. thank you!!!

  5. Preordered a high number as I’ll be giving this out to everyone next year. It’s on Amazon.co.uk. V excited. Well done, Em. xx

  6. Hi Emily–got your notice and pre-ordered. Love you!

  7. Ordered. Not looking forward to reading it, but I will consider it one more way that I hold you and all your family in my prayers.

  8. Thank you, Emily. I also love your writing and wish that you hadn’t had to write this particular story.

  9. Dear Emily, I thought you may like to read and find comfort in reading from an unknown author who also wrote about his/her lost:

    I closely held within my arms a jewel so rare,
    Never had one so rich and pure engaged my care
    ‘Twas my own precious jewel, God gave it me
    ‘Twas mine, who else could care for it so tenderly?
    But the Master came one day my gem to take
    I cannot let her go, I cried, my heart would break
    Nay, but the Master comes for her, to bear above
    To deck His royal diadem, He comes in love.
    But Master, she is my treasure, my jewel rare
    I’ll safely guard and keep her pure and very fare
    If thou keepest my gem, He said, it may be lost
    The threshold of my home, no thief has ever crossed.
    And where the heart’s rich treasure is, the heart will be
    Thy jewel will be safe above, gone before thee.
    The Master said these words and gazed with pitying look
    While in the early hush of morn, my gem He took
    Close to my heart that morn I held, tears falling fast,
    An empty casket, the bright gem was safe at last.
    Yes Master, Thou mayest keep my own, for it is Thine,
    Safe in the house not made with hands, ’tis Thine and mine.

  10. Hello Emily. Hope Edelman suggested I contact you and I apologize for using the comments section to do so, but I couldn’t find any other contact info. I’m moved by the story of your son. I have four children, three of them little boys, and my heart goes out to you. I will be praying for Ronin in the days and weeks to come, as well as praying for his family.
    I was fascinated by your book Poster Child because I’m an amputee myself. Once I read it I was more fascinated because you mentioned Nancy Eisland, who was a friend of mine (she and Terry both) in college. She was an incredible person to know.
    I’ve written a book about my journey to amputation, called “Just One Foot: How Amputation Cured My Disability.” I had a deformed foot most of my life and finally decided that I needed to cut it off and start over. Elective amputation is a fairly new idea in our country, but I think it will become more common in the years to come.
    The book website is at justonefoot.com
    Feel free to visit it if you have the time. But please dont feel an obligation. I’d want you to give every minute you can to that precious boy. If you are interested in reading my book I can send you the manuscript or a hard copy.
    Thank you for being so honest and open in your blog. Ronin is a lucky boy, to be surrounded by so much love.
    Very Sincerely,
    Judy Johnson Berna
    justonefoot.com

  11. Hi Emily,
    I listened to you today on NPR and was moved by your insights and your love for your son. I am so sorry for your loss and the process that led to your loss. I lost my youngest daughter in April of 2012. She was 21 and the love of my life. Your story ran so true with me – the beautiful memories of my Audrey are what keep me going. All my best to you, your strength, and your love for son.

    Cindy Warming

  12. Sandy Poole Keiter

    Dear Emily. Your book is so beautiful I find I have to periodically stop and breathe to be able to take it in. I am changed by it. Thank you.
    Sandy Poole Keiter, Portland, Oregon

Leave a Reply

